\\\\\\\\\\ IEEE CS - Student Chapter

About IEEE Madras Section

IEEE Madras Section

The Beginning

Historically, the activities of our Section started as TamilNadu Sub-Section, of the Bangalore Section, in 1973. Mr.V.Srinivasan, Chairman of W.S.Group of Companies , was its first Chairman. The Sub-section attained the Section status on 28th April1978. The first Chairman, Mr.E.N.Narayaswamy(1976-1980), was then the Joint Director of Industries, and he was instrumental in developing the Vikram Sarabai Complex at Adyar.

A Growing Reputation

The Section’s reputation grew from having small cluster meetings to bigger congregations with increasing membership year after year and the ACE – Annual Convention and Exhibition of India Council was held at Taj Coromandel in 1986.The Secretary was Mr.M.V.Chauhan, who owned an automobile components manufacturing company in Thiru Vika Road in Chennai and he was also a pioneer in Amateur Radio Club. During the period of Mr.E.N.Narayanaswamy (Chairman) & Mr.Chauhan(Secretary), the Section developed to a recognizable level. Mr.P.Bhoja Shetty MD, Shibshaw Instruments(81-83) and Mr.Chauhan(84-85), did commendable work to develop the Section. Mr.R. Sundararaman of M/S Crompton (founder-member) & Mr.K.B.Subramaniam (Ch.-1986) of GEC. assisted in establishing the Section firmly as the leading professional society in this part of the country by planning and conducting a number of technical seminars and workshops. Mr.H.Kalyanasundaram (Ch -1987-88), Director Best & Crompton helped in the development .of Student branches in various technical institutions by visiting them & explaining the benefits of IEEE membership. Mr.C.R.Sasi (Secretary 1982- 84, Vice Chair 1986, 87 and Chairman 1989 & 90) MD, Presmo Auto Fabrik, took great efforts in increasing the educational/technical activities in the Section and also increasing the activities of the Student Branches. He was also the founder secretary of PES and EM-IAS Chapters.